Why am I buying Yanzijiang and JES International now

More
11 years 2 weeks ago #13681 by MacGyver
Dear Forummers,

It has been quite a while since I last wrote. These past months, I have been busy engaging in US stocks as the liquidity and interests over in Wall Street have picked up significantly since the successful re-election of Obama.

I have been noticing keen interests in Singapore stocks since the start of 2013 and I have been accumulating stocks which I deem, would be able to ride the cycle.

Top of my list would be the S-chips which offer attractive risk-returns ratio.

I have been accumulating Yangzijiang since their offshore jackup rig announcement. I like the fact that they are working closely with the Qataris who are one of the most careful businessmen around. With Yangzijiang financial strength, I remain optimistic that the Company would ride out the shipping trough and would benefit from the spillover effects from the offshore cycle.

JES International has also been on my list as I notice that the Company has acquired some smallish offshore contracts. The margins to these contracts (last I checked with my offshore friends) are marginable (4-6%). I believe this is a transition period for the Company as they are shifting into the offshore sector.

If you notice this process took more than a year. I believe the Company will stand to benefit from this extended cycle.
The following user(s) said Thank You: yeng, springpig

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 2 weeks ago #13690 by Morpheus
Hi MacGyver,

YZJ and JES look to be in the downturn of a offshore cycle. Why are you still buying these companies in the sunset industry?

You should look at ChinaEratat or ISDN. They are expanding into the booming industries now.

More
11 years 2 weeks ago #13691 by Morpheus
My broker tell me to whack ISDN hard hard last week. Went in and out, made enough kopi money for a good month.

More
11 years 2 weeks ago #13693 by MacGyver